Metro station "South-West"

The very first line of the Moscow metro, the Sokolnicheskaya Line, was opened for use in 1935. The first consisted of only four cars and went along the route from the Sokolniki station to the Park Kultury station and further along the branch to the Smolenskaya station, which at that time was part of the red line. The length of the route was only 11.6 kilometers, and the passenger spent no more than fifteen minutes to travel between the end stations in any direction.

Opening station

The metro station "Yugo-Zapadnaya" hospitably opened its doors to the passage of passengers on December 30, 1963 as a logical continuation of the "Kirovsko-Frunzenskaya" line ("Sokolnicheskaya Line" at the present time) in the section "University - South-West". The station is famous for the fact that for almost 51 years it was the terminal station of the red line until the next station Troparyovo was opened in 2014. The metro station "Yugo-Zapadnaya" was located outside the city limits. At that time, its lobbies were located opposite the villages of Troparyovo and Nikulino.However, in the general plan of Moscow, a large sleeping area was already planned in this place. Only two years after the launch of the platform, in 1967, the first residential building in the immediate vicinity of the stopping point of the Moscow subway was put into operation.

subway south west


The vestibules of the Yugo-Zapadnaya metro station are located at the intersection of the broad Vernadsky Avenue and the junction of 26 Baku Commissars with Pokryshkina Street. “Eastern Ray” (present-day Vernadsky prospect) was brought to the lobbies only two years after their opening, leading it to the side, slightly to the left, when viewed from the center. The station was named for the residential area, which has already begun to build nearby. In 1991, the "South-West" district changed its name to "Troparyovo-Nikulino", according to a new administrative division, becoming part of the Western District of the capital. Now the metro station "Yugo-Zapadnaya" is associated by residents and guests of the capital in the direction and side of the location in the city, that is, just in its south-western part.


The station platform is made according to the island principle, with column supports. It is three-span and shallow.From the surface of the passengers is only eight meters. The station was built SMU-8 Metrostroy under the leadership of P. Burtseva according to the standard design. Two rows of forty columns each go in four-meter increments. Each column is lined with light marble. The floor of the Yugo-Zapadnaya metro station is lined with non-marking gray granite, from which even the most stubborn dirt is easily washed off. The walls of the station are covered with glazed ceramic tiles.

Moscow metro southwestern

Ground communication

Not all districts of the city stretch their underground networks Moscow. Metro "South-West" at the present time is the busiest station of the Moscow metro. In addition to various suburban ground transportation messages, residents of such areas of the city as Solntsevo, Ochakovo-Matveyevsky, Troparyovo-Nikulino, Marfino, and Obruchevsky, and partially Teply Stan . From the Yugo-Zapadnaya station you can reach the Vnukovo International Airport, as well as Mosrentgen, Mamyri, Gas Pipeline and Kommunarka settlements, which are now part of the so-called New Moscow.

southwestern metro station


Near the metro station "Yugo-Zapadnaya" there are several higher educational institutions, as well as their branches."Presidential Academy" and "MGIMO", "RUDN" and "MIREA" are within walking distance from the station. For younger children, about a dozen secondary schools are located nearby. Retail chains and retail stores are represented in the area by various well-known retailer brands, for example: Dixie, Magnit, Pyaterochka, Perekrestok, and others.

Related news

Southwestern metro station image, picture, imagery

Southwestern metro station 43

Southwestern metro station 23

Southwestern metro station 73

Southwestern metro station 83

Southwestern metro station 86

Southwestern metro station 13

Southwestern metro station 48

Southwestern metro station 28

Southwestern metro station 62

Southwestern metro station 72